Religion + Carnies

September 30, 2009

While perusing the books at my local library, I came across Holy Fools by Joanne Harris, author of Chocolat.

Although I haven’t read Chocolat (yet), I figured that anything written by the same author would at least be interesting…And I was right!

Set in 17th-century France, Holy Fools follows Juliette, a carnie girl-cum-acrobat turned nun. (No joke.)

After living the wild life with various traveling circus groups, Juliette, pregnant and single, turns to a nunnery to raise her little girl. When the Abbess dies, a strict new Abbess and her mysterious Confessor take charge of the lax nuns.

Chaos ensues!

There is plenty of mayhem – including illicit sex, kidnapping, suicide, and ghostly figures.

I don’t want to give too much away, so I’ll stop there.

Let me know if you read it! I’d love to hear what you guys think.

-B

One Response to “Religion + Carnies”

  1. revdrliz Says:

    I love you Bridgid. Thank you for posting. Here is a link to Diane Rehm’s interview with Joanne Harris- primarily a discussion of her latest book “The Girl with no Shadow”, a prequel to “Chocolate”. Harris seems to have an affinity for single mothers in difficult situations (if single parenthood isn’t always a difficult situation).
    http://wamu.org/programs/dr/09/01/04.php

    I’ve requested Holy Fools from the library, so I’ll be back with more opinions soon!

    There is a way to hide spoilers, such that the reader can mouse over to reveal them. I’ll research it.
    LL


Leave a Reply

